NAP coverage available for 2014 annual forage crops


   DeWitt County USDA Farm Service Agency executive director Grady Kelley, announced Texas FSA will offer Noninsured Crop Disaster Assistance Program coverage for 2014 crops that are planted annually and used for livestock feed or fodder. 
   The Risk Management Agency announced a pilot program that offers a CAT level Rainfall Index-Annual Forage Insurance Plan to producers in Texas, Kansas, Nebraska, North Dakota, Oklahoma and South Dakota. 
Because there is limited time for producers in these states to transition from NAP to the new RMA pilot program, an exception was made that will allow the states to continue offering NAP coverage for 2014. However, NAP coverage will not be available for 2015 annual forage crops. 
   Eligible producers can apply for 2014 NAP coverage at the DeWitt County FSA Office using form CCC-471, Application for Coverage. Producers must file the application and service fee by the deadline of July 15 for fall seeded crops and December 15 for crops planted in the spring. The service fee is the lesser of $250 per crop or $750 per producer per administrative county, not to exceed a total of $1,875 for a producer with farming interests in multiple counties. 
Read more in this week's edition of the Record.
Rate this article: 
No votes yet