2 re-elected to Yorktown school board; Klaevemann, Mueller elected to Nordheim school board


Just less than 15 percent of registered voters in DeWitt County participated in the May 10 general election.

Four people were voted to the Yorktown ISD board of trustees: Nelda Sertuche was re-elected with 440 votes, Danette Respondek was elected with 414 votes, Randy Franke was elected with 389 votes, and Mark Weischwill was re-elected with 313 votes. Also on the ballot were Keary Perez, with 126 votes; Ray Simecek, with 160 votes; Wade Billings, with 116 votes; and Carole Mueller with 42 votes.

Yorktown voters voted in favor of the proposition on the ballot, which allows the reauthorization of local sales and use tax in the city of Yorktown at the rate of one-fourth of one percent to continue providing revenue for maintenance and repair of municipal streets.

Kay L. Klaevemann and Glenn Mueller were voted to the Nordheim ISD board of trustees. Klaevemann had 75 votes and Mueller had 69 votes. Also on the ballot were Rebecca Vasquez Garcia, who had 15 votes, and Shannon Wunderlich, who had 32 votes.

In Cuero, Sara Post Meyer was re-elected mayor with 337 votes. Her opponent Russell Williams had 155 votes.

A runoff election will be held between Doyle Cruz and Terry Glover for the position of district 2 council member. Cruz had 33 votes and Glover had 34 votes. David Ruiz, who also ran for district 2 council member, had 15 votes.

Brad Hedrick ran unopposed for district 3 council member. He had 90 votes.

Voters voted in favor for all 12 propositions on the Cuero ballot.

Courtney Toller Moore was voted to the Cuero ISD board of trustees. She had 75 votes. Her opponent Pat Koranek had 70 votes.

Read more in next week’s editions of the Record and the News-View.

Rate this article: 
No votes yet