AgriLife Extension to honor county governments during cooperative extension centennial


COLLEGE STATION—This month, the Texas A&M AgriLife Extension Service joins other Cooperative Extension services around the United States in celebrating the 100th anniversary of the signing of the federal Smith-Lever Act on May 8, 1914. This act provides for cooperative agricultural extension work at the nation’s land-grant colleges – and county governments are vital partners in that work. As part of the celebration, AgriLife Extension representatives will present Extension’s Building a Better Texas Award to every County Commissioners Court in Texas for decades of cooperation and support. County Extension offices are located in 250 of Texas’s 254 counties, and Extension serves every county. 
“We want our county government to know how much we appreciate the partnership we have developed over the years. Without their support, we would not have been able to serve the people of DeWitt County as well as we have, and many Texans would have missed opportunities to benefit from the practical, university-based information that Extension offers,” said Anthony Netardus, DeWitt County Agriculture Extension Agent, and Denise Goebel, DeWitt County Family and Consumer Science Agent.
Read more in this week's edition of the Record. Call 361-275-3464 to subscribe to the Record.
Rate this article: 
No votes yet