• Article Image Alt Text

DeWitt County early voting for 2020 general election

Early voting for the 2020 General Election has begun; each registered voter is encouraged to vote early at the DeWitt County Annex located at 115 North Gonzales Street. 

Here are the early voting numbers that DeWitt County has seen so far:

DeWitt County has 12,117 registered voters.

For the first week, there were a total of 2,190 voters.

Voting Breakdown:

Tuesday, Oct. 13: 646 voters

Wednesday, Oct. 14: 582 voters

Thursday, Oct. 15: 454 voters

Friday, Oct. 16: 507 voters

The early voting times and dates are as follows: 

Monday, Oct. 19 through Friday, Oct. 23 from 8 a.m. until 5 p.m. (open through lunch hour)

Saturday, Oct. 24 from 8 a.m. until 12 p.m.

Sunday, Oct. 25 from 1 p.m. until 5 p.m.

Monday, Oct. 26 through Friday, Oct. 30 from 8 a.m. until 5 p.m. (open through hour)

Election Day is Tuesday, Nov. 3 with voting from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.

Following are the candidates in DeWitt County.

Sheriff: Carl R. Bowen (Republican); Jeff “Rooster” Thompson (Independent/Write-In Candidate)

President and Vice President: Donald J. Trump/Michael R. Pence (Republican); Joseph R. Biden/Kamala D. Harris (Democratic); Jo Jorgensen/Jeremy “Spike” Cohen (Libertarian); Howie Hawkins/Angela Walker (Green)

US Senator: John Cornyn (Republican); Mary “MJ” Hegar (Democratic); Kerry Douglas McKennon (Libertarian); David B. Collins (Green)

US Representative District No. 34: Rey Gonzalez (Republican); Filemon B. Vela (Democratic); Anthony Cristo (Libertarian); Chris B. Royal (Independent)

Railroad Commissioner: James “Jim” Wright (Republican); Chrysta Castaneda (Democratic); Matt Sterett (Libertarian); Katija “Kat” Gruene (Green)

Chief Justice, Supreme Court: Nathan Hecht (Republican); Amy Clark Meachum (Democratic); Mark Ash (Libertarian)

Justice, Supreme Court, Place No. 6 Unexpired Term: Jane Bland (Republican); Kathy Cheng (Democratic)

Justice, Supreme Court, Place No. 7: Jeff Boyd (Republican); Staci Williams (Democratic); William Bryan Strange III (Libertarian)

Justice, Supreme Court, Place No. 8: Brett Busby (Republican); Gisela D. Triana (Democratic); Tom Oxford (Libertarian)

Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place No. 3: Bert Richardson (Republican); Elizabeth Davis Frizell (Democratic)

Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place No. 4: Kevin Patrick Yeary (Republican); Tina Clinton (Democratic)

Judge, Court of Criminal Appeals, Place No. 9: David Newell (Republican); Brandon Birmingham (Democratic)

State Senator District No. 18: Lois W. Kolkhorst (Republican); Michael Antalan (Democratic)

State Representative District No. 30: Geanie W. Morrison (Republican)

Justice, 13th Court of Appeals District, Place No. 4 Unexpired Term: Jaime Tijerina (Republican); Migdalia Lopez (Democratic)

Justice, 13th Court of Appeals District, Place No. 6: Clarissa Silva (Republican), Nereida Lopez-Singleterry (Democratic)

District Judge, 24th Judicial District: Jack W. Marr (Republican)

District Judge, 135 Judicial District: Kemper Stephen Williams (Republican)

District Attorney, 24th Judicial District: Robert C. “Rob” Lassmann (Republican)

Uncontested Candidates Declared Elected

County Attorney: Jay Condie (Republican)

District Clerk, Unexpired Term: Esther Ruiz (Republican)

County Tax Assessor-Collector: Ashley D. Mraz (Republican)

County Commissioner, Precinct No. 1: Curtis G. Afflerbach (Republican)

County Commissioner, Precinct No. 3: James Kaiser (Republican)

Constable, Precinct No. 1: Kelly J. Phelps (Republican)

Constable, Precinct No. 2: Jefferson Hobbs (Republican)

DeWitt County Today

The Cuero Record
119 E. Main Street
Cuero, TX 77954



Yorktown News-View
133 E. Main
Yorktown, TX 78164-0398