McBride wins in one of the highest participated midterm elections in county history

By Roger Cowan

The Cuero Record/Yorktown News-View

Tuesday evening, Nov. 6, Blanca McBride claimed a dominating victory in the race for DeWitt County Justice of the Peace, Pct. 2. After being appointed to finish the remainder of the late Judge Bill Robinson’s term, McBride was also appointed by the DeWitt County Republican Party to be the nominee on the November ballot. Former DeWitt County Sheriff Jode Zavesky and Robinson’s long time clerk Charlotte Andersen both ran against McBride as write-in candidates. 

After several long months of a contentious race, election time finally came. With early voting done and many scrambling to get their last minute vote in on Tuesday, the totals took a while to get turned in and tallied. Several were gathered around the election office door, eagerly awaiting the posting of results. Early voting was posted the moment the polls closed, and showed McBride to have a very strong early lead, taking 1,317 votes in early voting for 60.36%. Coming in second, Zavesky garnered 27.45% with 599 votes, and Andersen wrapped it up with 6.83% and 149 votes.

After the final precincts reported, McBride still held a commanding lead, with 62.43% and 2,248 votes. Zavesky finished the election in second with 23.49% and 846 votes and Andersen finished with 8.8% and 317 votes. 

In a statement, McBride stated “I look forward to continuing the business of the JP court, and I will be vigilant in applying conservative principles as a steward of taxpayer dollars.”

Other races driving a high midterm voter turnout included the race for U.S. Senator and Governor. In the Senate race, a vast bombardment of advertising from Robert Francis “Beto” O’Rourke and incumbent Ted Cruz ended with Cruz claiming 51% to O’Rourke’s 48%, despite support for O’Rourke from celebrities such as Lebron James, Beyonce, and Willie Nelson.

In the Texas Governor’s race, incumbent Greg Abbott claimed a victory over former Dallas area sheriff Lupe Valdez, racking up 55.9% to Valdez’s 42.4%.

Local State Representative Geanie Morrison took a landslide victory over Robin Hayter with a 75% to 25% margin, while State Board of Education District 2 challenger Tad Hasse fell to incumbent Democrat Ruben Cortez, Jr. by a margin of 46.2% to 53.79%. U.S Representative District 34 incumbent Filemon Vela defeated challenging Republican Rey Gonzales by a roughly 60% to 40% breakdown.

In all, approximately 63% of DeWitt county voters chose to vote straight party, with 52% voting straight Republican and almost 11% voting straight Democrat. With around 6,100 voters turning out to cast a ballot in DeWitt county, this has proven to be one of the highest participated election cycles in the history of the county.

In the nation as a whole, though the Republicans have retained control of the Senate in D.C., the Democrats will gain control of the House.

DeWitt County Today

The Cuero Record
119 E. Main Street
Cuero, TX 77954



Yorktown News-View
133 E. Main
Yorktown, TX 78164-0398