• Article Image Alt Text

Republican Mayra Flores wins special election

A special election was held on June 14 for the position of United States representative, district 34.

In DeWitt County, Republican Mayra Flores won 82.08% of the vote, 710 votes total. Republican Juana “Janie” Cantu-Cabrera pulled 5.55% of the vote, 48 votes total. Democrat Dan Sanchez earned 11.33% of the vote, 98 votes total, and Democrat Rene Coronado got 1.04% of the total vote, 9 votes in total.

DeWitt County commissioners court met on Monday, June 20, to canvass the votes for the June 14 special election in DeWitt County. Melissa Alcazar with the elections office gave her report, then commissioners adopted the report and certified the election.

Flores fills the unexpired term of Democratic Rep. Filemón Vela who resigned in late March. Flores will hold the seat until January and come November, there will be a general election to decide who will represent the new 34th District, where Flores will face Democratic nominee Vicente Gonzalez.

Flores was born in Burgos Tamaulipas, Mexico. She came legally to the United States at six years old with the help of her father. She spent most of her life in the Rio Grande Valley and in 2004, she graduated high school in San Benito, Texas.

DeWitt County Today

The Cuero Record
119 E. Main Street
Cuero, TX 77954



Yorktown News-View
133 E. Main
Yorktown, TX 78164-0398