• Article Image Alt Text

Texans helping Texans

By Glenn Rea

The Cuero Record/Yorktown News-View

DeWitt County Commissioners Court approved the county’s holiday schedule and recognized three people for their efforts following Hurricane Harvey. The court was in regular session Monday at the courthouse.

Planning for 2018 the county will observe the following holidays: New Year’s Day, Monday, Jan. 1; Martin Luther King Jr. Day, Monday, Jan. 15; President’s Day, Monday, Feb. 19; Good Friday, Friday, March 30; Memorial Day, Monday, May 28; Independence Day, Wed., July 4; Labor Day, Monday, Sept. 3; Veteran’s Day, Monday, Nov. 12; Thanksgiving, Thursday and Friday, Nov. 22, 23; and Christmas, Monday and Tuesday, Dec. 24-25.

In other business the court recognized and presented certificates to County Commissioner Curtis Afflerbach, Cuero Fire Chief Buddy Harwell, and Emergency Management Coordinator Cyndi Smith. The certificates were from City of Georgetown Fire Department recognizing assistance from the three county and city officials.

DeWitt County Emergency Management Coordinator Cyndi Smith, County Commissioner Curtis Afflerbach, and Cuero Fire Chief Buddy Harwell receive certificates from County Judge Daryl Fowler recognizing their assistance to Georgetown and Hutto Strike Teams following Hurricane Harvey. The strike teams had been in Aransas Pass assisting that city after Hurricane Harvey. Fuel availability was short and the strike teams were headed home on Sunday, Sept. 3. They contacted Cuero and received fuel and assistance from the three officials recognized. The presentations were made at Commissioner’s Court meeting Monday.

Read the full story in this week's edition of The Cuero Record and Yorktown News-View.

DeWitt County Today

The Cuero Record
119 E. Main Street
Cuero, TX 77954



Yorktown News-View
133 E. Main
Yorktown, TX 78164-0398