• Article Image Alt Text

Cuero 8U all-star softball crowned district 31 east zone champs

This past weekend was a huge weekend of softball for the Cuero 8U All-Star team. Beginning back on June 3, they would play in a total of seven games over a nine-day period going 5-2 overall. Getting the championship action started last Thursday, in Lockhart, Cuero defeated Hallettsville 10-6 setting up another matchup with Hallettsville the next day for the Texas District 31 8U East Zone Championship. Faced with tons of adversity, the girls trailed by seven runs entering the final inning. Finding momentum and passing the bats down to the next batter in the order, Cuero came back to win the game 13-12 to be crowned East Zone Champs. The win set up a date with New Braunfels in La Vernia for the East/West Zone District title that was played Saturday evening. Fighting hard and having fun, Cuero would come up short ending a fantastic run and season. The Cuero 8U Softball All-Star team includes 13 players, Ava Saenz, Ava Hobbs, Raelynn Cox, Jennings Cox, Bailey Escobedo, Phoenix Diaz, Riley Schons, Peyton Lemke, Tatum Nelson, Lynzi Brandstetter, Gracelynn Esquivel, Olivia Searcy, and Taryn Anderson. They are coached by Julie Kuecker, Priscilla Trevino, Anthony Schons, and Jeff Hobbs.

DeWitt County Today

The Cuero Record
119 E. Main Street
Cuero, TX 77954



Yorktown News-View
133 E. Main
Yorktown, TX 78164-0398